All teachers are trained to rigorously high standards. Teaching standards and up-to–date knowledge is maintained through the requirement for qualified teachers to attend national, monitored Professional Development days led by senior Iyengar teachers.

Iyengar Yoga Certification Mark

The Iyengar Yoga Certification Mark is a guarantee of excellence, clarity and depth of understanding. Only qualified Iyengar teachers can display this mark. In the UK, high standards of teaching are ensured by a syllabus of mentoring, and assessments endorsed by the IY(UK), and by the Iyengars in Pune, India.

Teaching Qualifications

All of the qualifications follow a syllabus, require at least one year of specific mentorship and practice,
and are undertaken sequentially, building on the previous levels:

  • Introductory Levels 1 & 2
  • Intermediate Junior Levels 1, 2 & 3
  • Intermediate Senior Levels 1, 2 & 3
  • Advanced Junior Levels 1, 2 & 3
  • Advanced Senior Levels 1 & 2.

For further information go to www.iyengaryoga.org.uk

Teacher Mentoring

Yogacharya Sri BKS Iyengar developed what has come to be called Iyengar Yoga from a firm, spiritual, philosophical and practical base. Iyengar yoga is a way of life, rather than a physical activity. A very successful teacher training programme has run for many years and took its final intake of trainees in January 2018. A new system of preparing for teaching assessment is being finalised.

Candidates for teaching assessments must have practiced Iyengar Yoga regularly for a minimum of 6 years before presenting for an assessment. Candidates should not only have achieved a high standard in his/her personal practice in the Introductory asanas, but also have a preliminary awareness of the subtlety of Iyengar Yoga and its philosophy.